5 reasons why you should major in whatever the heck you want

Alexandra
4 min readDec 31, 2020

Choosing what to study in college is one of the hardest, scariest, and most important decisions you make as a 17-year-old. Most people don’t know what they want to do, so they choose something practical and predictable. We spend our entire lives being asked what we want to do when we grow up, but we are never really exposed or shown the options that we have.

Picking a college major was terrifying for me, and it lowkey kind of still is terrifying to think about. All I knew was that I didn’t want to have a boring existence. I didn’t want my future to be me sitting at a desk all day wishing I could go home, and then go home and dread having to leave the next day to go back. Just living for the weekends. Probably one of my biggest fears. I spent my entire high school career feeling this way. Because of that, I know I absolutely cannot spend the rest of my life like that. I wouldn’t make it. This may be naïve, but I believe life is too short to spend it doing things you don’t want to do. If I don’t love what I’m doing I cannot get myself to do it. Why would I spend my life doing something I don’t want to do if I have the option not to?

Due to my unwillingness to do things I am not passionate about or care about in the slightest, I knew I needed to choose a career path that excited me as much as it scared me. It just so happened to be one of those paths that people will make fun of, judge you for, think it’s not a real major/path, the list goes on. I cringe when people ask me because I…

--

--